Poem #21

I think I’ll just do poem a day sporadically for now, whenever an idea strikes.

It’s not that it’s my fault,

maybe the timing was just bad.

People sing upbeat songs,

until one day there’s happiness to be had.

Years of hopes, wishes, and expectations.

Decades of dreaming of transformations.

I’m safe where I am,

that’s not to complain,

but I see you outside getting by in the rain.

If I step outside,

can I weather the flood?

Will my own instincts guide me?

Put fire in my blood?

I know I’m supposed to see you,

I don’t dare put the spotlight on me.

It detracts from the betterment of others, you see.

Do I dare feel good, when others don’t?

Do I dare stop trying, when others won’t?

Must I stop chasing this selfish dream of mine?

If I sacrifice what I don’t have,

will happiness be thine?

~Niki

Leave a Reply

